Our story

Deutsch

 

By bicycle from Switzerland to Vietnam?

 

Alessandro, Lukas and Michael were sixteen years old when they cycled along the Rhine River, around Lake Constance and back to their hometown Basel at record speed. Due to the wonderful experiences, new ideas for longer bike tours came up soon. Not even a year later, on Easter 2008, Lukas and Michael started in Basel heading for Rotterdam. Because of their first trip, they knew the upper part of the Rhine fairly well. Now, they wanted to discover its further course from Basel to its water mouth into the North Sea. The weather conditions on the whole journey were extremely bad; hence the joy was all the greater at the first sight of the Sea in The Hague – an unforgettable moment.


First sight of the Sea in The Hague
First sight of the Sea in The Hague


All these experiences really aroused travel nerves – in summer 2009, Lukas and Michael hit the road again. This time, they followed the Danube River from Ulm on. Via Vienna and Bratislava, they cycled to Budapest; fortunately under much better weather conditions. The picturesque landscape, the discovery of the unknown and the travellers’ life were fascinating and left memories lasting forever.


Lukas and Michael at the arrival in Budapest
Lukas and Michael at the arrival in Budapest


These particular experiences led to the dream of a much longer cycling tour. From the very beginning, the two could not imagine any other transportation means than the bike. If travelling by bike, you get the chance to experience every single meter as well as to get in touch with local people and their culture. The feeling of freedom when being on the road is indescribable.


"...there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun."
Chris McCandless (1968 - 1992), out of the book „Into the Wild“ by Jon Krakauer

 

On August 7 2011, Lukas and Michael finally started heading eastwards; aiming to cycle from their home to Vietnam. The first part of the journey led the two along the Danube again, this time, however, they followed the river until its mouth into the Black Sea. Afterwards, they passed through Turkey and Iran; all the time equipped with a tent, cooking utensils and repair materials. From Iran, they flew to Mumbai in order to travel through Southern India. After catching a further flight, Lukas and Michael cycled through Thailand, Cambodia and Laos until Hanoi in Vietnam. Back to Switzerland, they had ridden their bikes as far as 12’474 km and experienced eight months of an uncountable number of adventures.


Arrival in their hometown after 8 months
Arrival in their hometown after 8 months


„The world is a book, and he who doesn’t travel reads only one page.“
Aurelius Augustinus (354 - 430)

Unsere Geschichte

English

 

Mit dem Velo von der Schweiz bis in den Vietnam?

 

In Rekordzeit fuhren Alessandro, Lukas und Michi als Sechzehnjährige dem Rhein entlang in Richtung Ostschweiz, um den Bodensee herum und wieder zurück nach Basel. Aufgrund der wunderbaren Erlebnisse entwickelten sich schon bald neue Ideen für grössere Velotouren. Ein knappes Jahr später, an Ostern 2008, starteten Lukas und Michi dann in Basel mit Kurs auf Rotterdam. Der Rhein zur Quelle hin war ihnen ja von der ersten Velotour her grossteils bekannt. Nun wollten sie den weiteren Verlauf des für Basel so wichtigen Flusses bis zu seiner Mündung in die Nordsee erkunden. Charakteristisch bei diesem Abenteuer waren die extrem schlechten Wetterbedingungen. Umso grösser war dann aber die Freude beim ersten Anblick des Meers in Den Haag – ein unvergesslicher Moment.


Erster Anblick des Meers in Den Haag
Erster Anblick des Meers in Den Haag


Das Reisefieber war nun vollends ausgebrochen und im Sommer 2009 brachen Lukas und Michi bereits erneut auf. Die beiden Freunde folgten der Donau von Ulm aus via Wien und Bratislava bis nach Budapest und konnten diesmal auf deutlich besseres Wetter zählen. Die schöne Landschaft, das Entdecken von Unbekanntem und das Reiseleben waren faszinierend.


Lukas und Michi bei der Ankunft in Budapest
Lukas und Michi bei der Ankunft in Budapest


So entwickelte sich ein Traum von einer langen Tour. Das Velo als Reisemittel war gesetzt. Denn auf diese Weise bleibt genug Zeit, jeden Meter zu erleben und in engen Kontakt mit den Menschen und deren Kultur zu kommen. Das Gefühl von Freiheit 'on the road' ist unbeschreiblich.


"...there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun."

Chris McCandless (1968 - 1992), out of the book „Into the Wild“ by Jon Krakauer

 

Am 7. August 2011 war es dann so weit - Lukas und Michi brachen von zu Hause aus in Richtung Vietnam auf. Die erste Etappe brachte sie erneut der Donau entlang, diesmal aber bis zu deren Mündung in das Schwarze Meer. Danach radelten die beiden, stets bepackt mit Zelt, Kochutensilien und Reparaturmaterial, durch die Türkei und den Iran. Dort ging es mit dem Flugzeug übers Wasser nach Mumbai, worauf eine Reise durch Südindien folgte. Nach einem weiteren Übersetzen nach Bangkok fuhren Lukas und Michi durch Thailand, Kambodscha und Laos bis nach Hanoi im Vietnam. Bei ihrer Ankunft zurück in der Schweiz hatten sie 12'474 km in den Waden und acht Monate voller abenteuerlicher Erlebnisse im Gepäck.


Ankunft im Heimatdorf nach acht Monaten
Ankunft im Heimatdorf nach acht Monaten


„Die Welt ist ein Buch, wer nicht reist, sieht nur eine Seite davon.“
Aurelius Augustinus (354 - 430)